MEP Middle East Awards: Shortlist announced

ITP Media Group

The biggest night in the MEP calendar is almost upon us – and what a 12 months it has been since we last gathered to toast the sector’s finest.

Despite the disruption caused by the global health pandemic, anticipation has steadily grown over the summer months, and we are now awaiting the final crescendo on 30 September.


This year marks the 14th edition of the annual prizegiving, and competition for the coveted gongs has proven to be just as fierce as in previous events.

Editor Tom Oxtoby said: “It was very refreshing, after a year dominated by negative news, to read in more detail some of the incredible projects that firms have been working on in 2020.

“Our expert panel of judges reported an extremely high standard of nomination this year, and they share my excitement ahead of the prizegiving ceremony.

“We’ve had a ball putting this lavish celebration together, and the only thing left now is to bust out your evening best and party the night away. We thank everyone who put their name into the hat for this year’s awards, and wish all nominees the very best of luck.”

Electrical Engineer of the Year
Marc Lynch - BuroHappold
Satender Sharma - Ramboll
Mohan Daniel - Atkins
Shaikh Dawood Fazil - Adeeb Group
Sherif Abdoh - GAJ
Yashin Maharaj - SSH
Simon Cathrine - Black & White Engineering
Amr Selim - KEO International Consultants

Electrical Project of the Year
Terra The Sustainability Pavilion - BuroHappold
The Avenues Riyadh - Ramboll
Conference & Exhibition Centre - Voltas

GCC Project of the Year
Dubai Commercity - P&T Architects
Terra The Sustainability Pavilion - BuroHappold
Residences at Marina Gate I & II - Alemco
Pulse Residential City - Adeeb Group
Sharjah Sewage Treatment Plant - Metito
Conference & Exhibition Centre - Voltas

Health & Safety Initiative of the Year
Adeeb Group
China State Construction

Mechanical Project of the Year
Dubai Commercity - P&T Architects
Terra The Sustainability Pavilion  BuroHappold
The Avenues Riyadh - Ramboll
Tecom-C District Cooling Plant - Voltas

Mechanical Engineer of the Year
John Myer - BuroHappold
Chijyoti Challamarad - Ramboll
Seyed Thahir Hussain - Adeeb Group
Imran Shaikh - SSH
Joseph Samy - GAJ
Maria Batac - Black & White Engineering

MEP Consultancy of the Year
P&T Architects
Crown Home Engineering Consultants
Black & White Engineering

MEP Contractor of the Year
Adeeb Group
Al Shafar United
China State Construction

MEP Executive of the Year
Gavin Loy - BuroHappold
Tariq Al Ghussein - Taqeef
Robert McDonnell - Alemco
Richard Stratton - Cundall
Eng. Ansari - Adeeb Group

Plumbing Engineer of the Year
Ashveen Jeetun - BuroHappold
Jessica De Torres - Ramboll
Madhu Babu Chandran - Atkins
Khaleelur Rahman - Adeeb Group
Haitham Elhennawy - KEO International Consultants

Plumbing Project of the Year
Terra The Sustainability Pavilion - BuroHappold
Al Sahel Resort BSC - Voltas
Arcadia School - GAJ

Project Manager of the Year
Robert Biffi - Itinera
Roy John Wicks - Alemco
Vazeer Husain - Adeeb Group

Retrofit Project of the Year
Energy Performance Contract, Jumeriah Living, World Trade Centre Residence Phase 2 - QTM Energy Engineering
Alpha Water Financed Pump Swap - Grundfos
ASHARQ News Services DIFC - BW Interiors MEP
Abdali Hospital - AECOM

Supplier of the Year
Hira Industries
KAD Air Conditioning
Leminar Air Conditioning

Sustainable Project of the Year
Dubai Commercity - P&T Architects
Terra The Sustainability Pavilion - BuroHappold
Nation Tower - Adeeb Group
NEOM Sea Water RODP - Metito

Young Engineer of the Year
Chrystall Thomas - BuroHappold
Drew Gilbert - Croquis
Fahim Mohammad Ashraf - Ramboll
Anre Coetsee - Alemco
Waseem Khan - AECOM
Lama Refaei - KEO International Consultants

For the latest MEP news from the UAE, Gulf, and around the world, follow us on Twitter and LinkedIn.

Most Popular

Sign up for Newsletter

Digital Edition

Read The Edition Here